General Declaration

Online platform for submission of General Declarations for flights leaving or entering the Schengen area

Go to the General Declaration form

Crossing of the external borders of the Schengen area

Crossing of the external borders of the Schengen area may be executed only at the official border crossing points (inbound and outbound).

Incoming persons may travel freely in the Schengen area after the border check.

The official Belgian air border crossing points are: 

Kaart van het Schengengebied

Go to the General Declaration form

Notification to pilots – Digital submission to Belgian air border guards

In order to improve their border checks and in accordance with the Schengen Borders Code (EU 2016/399),

prior to a flight crossing a Schengen external border, the Belgian Airport Police require prior digital submission of a General Declaration (GenDec). This GenDec shall contain, among other things, aircraft, flight and personal data on private flights.

For prior digital submission, the electronic form shall be used. This applies to flights coming from one of the six Belgian Schengen airports and bound for a non-Schengen country as well as to flights coming from a non-Schengen country and bound for Belgium.

You also have to comply with this obligation if Belgium is the Member State of first entry whereas the country of destination is any other Member State.

Additional information

This Federal Police website makes it possible to automatically and securely create and submit General Declarations for the competent border guards:

Federal Police – Airport Police 
GenDec Center Wevelgem
DGA.LPA.GenDecCenter@police.belgium.eu

+32 56 36 07 98 (0600-2100u)
+32 59 34 00 05 (2100-0600u)

Below, you find the regulatory framework requiring the submission of a General Declaration.

AIP (Aeronautical Information Publication) - Aviation Manual

GEN 1.2 ENTRY, TRANSIT AND DEPARTURE OF AIRCRAFT

1.2 Crossing of the external borders of the Schengen area

Title II, Chapter I, Article 5 of Regulation 2016/399 of the European Parliament and of the Council imposes restrictions on the crossing of the external borders of the Schengen area. They may be crossed only at the official border crossing points notified by the EU Member States to the European Commission. 

The Schengen area, within which no restrictions to air travel apply, currently consists of 26 countries: 

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, G.D. of Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland. 

 

Kaart van het Schengengebied

Flights arriving from any other country shall only use the official border crossing points when landing in Belgium. Likewise, flights departing to any country outside the Schengen area shall take off only from the official border crossing points.

The official border crossing points are EBAW, EBBR, EBCI, EBKT, EBLG, EBOS.

Incoming persons may travel freely in the Schengen area after the border check at the official border crossing point.

When travelling by air in Belgium, entering or leaving the Schengen area from any other aerodrome than the official border crossing points mentioned above, is illegal. Active surveillance will be carried out by the Belgian Federal Police and violations will be subject to law enforcement measures.

Further information may be obtained from:

Federal Police – Airport Police 
GenDec Center Wevelgem
DGA.LPA.GenDecCenter@police.belgium.eu
+32 56 36 07 98 (0600-2100u)
+32 59 34 00 05 (2100-0600u)

Website Skeyes eAIP

A General Aviation Report (GAR) must be made for flights from and to the United Kingdom. Click on this link for more information.

Legal framework

EU Regulation 2016/399 (Schengen Borders Code) – Annex VI – Article 2.3.1.:

In the case of private flights from or to third countries the captain shall transmit to the border guards of the Member State of destination and, where appropriate, of the Member State of first entry, prior to take-off, a general declaration comprising inter alia a flight plan in accordance with Annex 2 to the Convention on International Civil Aviation and information concerning the passengers’ identity.

Royal Decree of 19 December 2014 – Article 33

Pilots flying from or to a non-European Union or non-Schengen State, shall only land at or take off from a customs aerodrome. When they are forced to land elsewhere, they shall immediately inform the police or customs and follow the instructions given.

Ministerial Decree of 4 October 2013 – Article 1

The public aerodromes below are designated as customs aerodromes for freight and passenger traffic: Antwerp; Brussels-National; Charleroi-Brussels South; Liège-Bierset; Oostende-Brugge and Kortrijk-Wevelgem.

EU Regulation 2016/399 (Schengen Borders Code) – Title II, Chapter I, Article 5, § 1:

  1. External borders may be crossed only at border crossing points and during the fixed opening hours. The opening hours shall be clearly indicated at border crossing points which are not open 24 hours a day. 
    Member States shall notify the list of their border crossing points to the Commission in accordance with Article 39.
     
  2. By way of derogation from paragraph 1, exceptions to the obligation to cross external borders only at border crossing points and during fixed opening hours may be allowed: 
     
    a) for individuals or groups of persons, where there is a requirement of a special nature for the occasional crossing of external borders outside border crossing points or outside fixed opening hours, provided that they are in possession of the permits required by national law and that there is no conflict with the interests of public policy and the internal security of the Member States. Member States may make specific arrangements in bilateral agreements. General exceptions provided for by national law and bilateral agreements shall be notified to the Commission pursuant to Article 39; 
     
    b) for individuals or groups of persons in the event of an unforeseen emergency situation; 
     
    c) in accordance with the specific rules set out in Articles 19 and 20 in conjunction with Annexes VI and VII.
     
  3. Without prejudice to the exceptions provided for in paragraph 2 or to their international protection obligations, Member States shall introduce penalties, in accordance with their national law, for the unauthorised crossing of external borders at places other than border crossing points or at times other than the fixed opening hours. Those penalties shall be effective, proportionate and dissuasive. 

Penalties for the unauthorised crossing of external borders

Law of 27 June 1937 (aviation rules) – Article 32

If violations of (the European Community regulations on civil aviation and of) the provisions of the royal decrees implementing this law are not subject to special penalties, they are punished with eight days' to one year's imprisonment and a fine of (two hundred euro to four million euro), or one of those penalties only. […]

Law of 15 December 1980 (Aliens Act) – Article 4bis

§ 1. At external borders within the meaning of international agreements on crossing of external borders which are binding on Belgium or European legislation, entry to and exit from the Kingdom must be only at authorised border crossing points and during the fixed opening hours as indicated by such border crossing points.

§ 2. Non-nationals must volunteer travel documents when entering or leaving the Kingdom.

§ 3. A non-national who breaches the obligation mentioned in § 1 may be fined EUR 200 by the Minister or his representative.
If the breach of the obligation set out in § 1 is due to negligence by the carrier, the carrier and the non-national shall be jointly and severally liable for payment of the fine.
The decision imposing the administrative fine shall be immediately enforceable, notwithstanding any appeal.
The legal person shall be civilly liable for payment of the administrative fine imposed on its managers, executives, employees or agents.
The administrative fine may be paid by a deposit of the amount owing at the Deposit and Consignment Office.

General Declaration

Plate-forme en ligne pour l'introduction d'une déclaration générale (« General Declaration ») pour les vols en provenance ou à destination de l'espace Schengen

Aller vers le formulaire General Declaration

Franchissement des frontières extérieures de l'espace Schengen

Le franchissement des frontières extérieures de l'espace Schengen ne peut avoir lieu qu'aux points de passage officiels (entrées et sorties).

Les personnes entrant dans l'espace Schengen peuvent voyager librement après le contrôle frontalier.

Les points de passage officiels des frontières aériennes Belges sont :

Kaart van het Schengengebied

Aller vers le formulaire General Declaration

Annonce au pilote – Soumission de données numériques aux gardes-frontières belges

Afin d'améliorer l'exécution de ses missions de contrôle frontalier et conformément au

Code frontières Schengen (UE 2016/399), la police aéronautique belge souhaite obtenir préalablement et par voie électronique une déclaration générale (General Declaration - GenDec) pour les vols franchissant les frontières extérieures de l'espace Schengen.  Cette déclaration générale s'applique à tout vol privé et comporte notamment les données relatives à l'appareil, au vol ainsi que des données à caractère personnel. 

Cette introduction préalable de données s'effectue via le présent e-formulaire et s'applique aux vols à destination d'un pays n'appartenant pas à l'espace Schengen au départ de l'un des six aéroports Schengen belges, de même qu'aux vols à destination de la Belgique en provenance d'un pays n'appartenant pas à l'espace Schengen.

Cette obligation doit être satisfaite, y compris dans le cas où la Belgique est l’État membre de la première entrée et où la destination finale du vol se situe dans un autre État membre.

Informations complémentaires

Ce site de la Police Fédérale permet de créer et de soumettre la déclaration générale de manière automatique et sécurisée aux gardes-frontières compétents:

Police Fédérale – Police aéronautique 
Centre GenDec Wevelgem
DGA.LPA.GenDecCenter@police.belgium.eu

+32 56 36 07 98 (0600-2100u)
+32 59 34 00 05 (2100-0600u)

Vous trouverez ci-dessous le cadre réglementaire rendant la création de déclaration générale obligatoire.

AIP (Aeronautical Information Publication) - Publication d'information aéronautique

GEN 1.2 ENTRÉE, TRANSIT ET SORTIE DES AÉRONEFS

1.2 Franchissement des frontières extérieures de l'espace Schengen

Le titre II, chapitre 1er, article 5 du Règlement 2016/399 du Parlement européen et du Conseil impose des restrictions quant au franchissement des frontières extérieures de l'espace Schengen. Ces frontières ne peuvent être franchies qu'aux points de passage frontaliers officiels notifiés par les États membres de l'UE à la Commission européenne. 

L'espace Schengen, au sein duquel ne s'applique aucune restriction de transport aérien, se compose actuellement de 26 pays:

l'Allemagne, l'Autriche, la Belgique, le Danemark, l'Espagne, l'Estonie, la Finlande, la France, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, la Grèce, la Hongrie, l'Islande, l'Italie, la Lettonie, le Liechtenstein, la Lituanie, Malte, la Norvège, les Pays-Bas, la Pologne, le Portugal, la République tchèque, la Slovaquie, la Slovénie, la Suède et la Suisse.

 

Kaart van het Schengengebied

Pour les vols à destination de la Belgique en provenance de tout autre pays, le franchissement des frontières extérieures ne peut s'effectuer que via les points de passage frontaliers officiels. De même, le départ de tout vol à destination d'un pays situé en dehors de l'espace Schengen ne peut s'effectuer que via l'un des points de passage frontaliers officiels. 

Les points de passage frontaliers officiels sont EBAW, EBBR, EBCI, EBKT, EBLG, EBOS.

Les personnes entrant dans l'espace Schengen peuvent y voyager librement une fois le contrôle frontalier effectué au point de passage frontalier officiel.

Lors de tout voyage aérien en Belgique, entrer ou quitter l'espace Schengen par tout aérodrome autre que l'un des points de passage frontaliers officiels susmentionnés est illégal. Une surveillance active sera assurée par la Police Fédérale belge. Toute violation sera sujette à des mesures de répression.

De plus amples informations peuvent être obtenues auprès du service suivant:

Police Fédérale – Police aéronautique 
Centre GenDec Wevelgem
DGA.LPA.GenDecCenter@police.belgium.eu
+32 56 36 07 98 (0600-2100u)
+32 59 34 00 05 (2100-0600u)

Website Skeyes eAIP

Un General Aviation Report (GAR) doit être établi pour les vols en provenance de et vers le Royaume-Uni. Plus d’informations via ce lien.

Cadre légal

Règlement UE 2016/399 (Code frontières Schengen) – Annexe VI – art. 2.3.1 :

Dans le cas de vols privés en provenance ou à destination de pays tiers, le commandant de bord transmet, préalablement au décollage, aux gardes-frontières de l’État membre de destination et, le cas échéant, à ceux de l’État membre de première entrée, une déclaration générale comportant notamment un plan de vol conforme à l’annexe 2 de la convention relative à l’aviation civile internationale et des informations sur l’identité des passagers.

Arrêté royal du 19 décembre 2014 – art. 33

Aucun pilote venant d'un État non membre de l'Union européenne ou de l'espace Schengen ou s'y rendant n'atterrit ou ne décolle en dehors d'un aérodrome douanier. S'il est contraint d'atterrir ailleurs, il prévient sans délai la police ou la douane et se conforme aux instructions qui lui sont données.

Arrêté ministériel du 4 octobre 2013 – art. 1er

Les aérodromes douaniers suivants sont désignés comme aérodromes douaniers pour le trafic des marchandises et des voyageurs : Anvers ; Bruxelles-National ; Charleroi-Brussels South ; Liège-Bierset ; Ostende-Bruges et Courtrai-Wevelgem.

Règlement UE 2016/399 (Code frontières Schengen) – Titre II, Chapitre I, Article 5, § 1 :

  1. Les frontières extérieures ne peuvent être franchies qu’aux points de passage frontaliers et durant les heures d’ouverture fixées. Les heures d’ouverture sont indiquées clairement aux points de passage frontaliers qui ne sont pas ouverts 24 heures sur 24.

    Les États membres notifient la liste de leurs points de passage frontaliers à la Commission conformément à l’article 39. 


     
  2. Par dérogation au paragraphe 1, des exceptions à l’obligation de ne franchir les frontières extérieures qu’aux points de passage frontaliers et durant les heures d’ouverture fixées peuvent être prévues : 

    a) pour des individus ou des groupes de personnes, en cas de nécessité revêtant un caractère particulier de franchir occasionnellement les frontières extérieures en dehors des points de passage frontaliers ou en dehors des heures d’ouverture fixées, pour autant que ces individus ou groupes de personnes soient en possession des autorisations requises par le droit national et que cela ne soit pas contraire aux intérêts des États membres en matière d’ordre public et de sécurité intérieure. Les États membres peuvent arrêter des modalités spécifiques dans des accords bilatéraux. Les exceptions générales prévues par le droit national et des accords bilatéraux sont notifiées à la Commission conformément à l’article 39 ; 

    b) pour des individus ou des groupes de personnes en cas d’urgence imprévue; 

    c) conformément aux modalités spécifiques prévues aux articles 19 et 20 en liaison avec les annexes VI et VII. 


     
  3. Sans préjudice des exceptions prévues au paragraphe 2 et de leurs obligations en matière de protection internationale, les États membres instaurent des sanctions, conformément à leur droit national, en cas de franchissement non autorisé des frontières extérieures en dehors des points de passage frontaliers ou des heures d’ouverture fixées. Ces sanctions sont effectives, proportionnées et dissuasives. 

Franchissement des frontières extérieures, sanctions

Loi du 27.06.1937 (Réglementation de la navigation aérienne) – art. 32

Dans le cas où elles ne seraient pas punies d'une peine spéciale par la présente loi, les infractions (aux règlements de la Communauté européenne relatifs à l'aviation civile et) aux dispositions des arrêtés royaux pris en exécution de cette loi seront punies d'un emprisonnement de huit jours à un an et d'une amende de (deux cents euros à quatre millions d'euros) ou d'une de ces peines seulement. [...]

Loi du 15 décembre 1980 (législation sur les étrangers) – art. 4bis

§ 1. Aux frontières extérieures au sens des conventions internationales relatives au franchissement des frontières extérieures liant la Belgique, ou de la réglementation européenne, l'entrée et la sortie du Royaume doivent avoir lieu par un point de passage autorisé, pendant les heures d'ouverture fixées, telles qu'indiquées par ces points de passage autorisés.

§ 2. L'étranger est tenu de présenter spontanément ses documents de voyage tant à l'entrée qu'à la sortie du Royaume.

§ 3. Le ministre ou son délégué peut infliger une amende de 200 euros à l'étranger qui ne respecte pas l'obligation prévue au § 1er.
 Si la violation de l'obligation visée au § 1er est due à une négligence du transporteur, celui-ci est solidairement tenu avec l'étranger de payer l'amende infligée.
La décision par laquelle une amende administrative est infligée est immédiatement exécutoire, nonobstant tout recours.
La personne morale est civilement responsable du paiement de l'amende administrative infligée à ses administrateurs, ses membres du personnel dirigeant et exécutif, ses préposés ou mandataires.
L'amende administrative peut être payée au moyen de la consignation du montant dû à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations.